NJ Legislative District Boundaries 2011 - 2020  
Downloadable Data 
NJ Legislative District Boundaries 2011 - 2020
  Theme:   boundaries, legislative, districts, assembly, senate, state assembly, state senate, NJ State Legislature, redistricting, apportionment, Apportionment Commission 
  Place:   New Jersey, NJ 
  Abstract:  This shapefile delineates the Legislative District boundaries for New Jersey, 2011 - 2020. It was created by the 2011 redistricting round of the NJ Apportionment Commission, based on geographic and demographic data from the US Census Bureau, 2010 census. It was created using Maptitude.An unofficial version also is available, which is based on the best available municipal boundary GIS data for NJ. See second Cross Reference entry for details.
  Purpose:  The data and map were created to re-apportion representation of the citizens of New Jersey in the NJ Legislature (Senate and Assembly). These districts apply to the election of NJ state legislators beginning in 2011.
  Supplemental Information:  The following information about the redistricting process was obtained from the Apportionment Commission Web site:As required by the New Jersey Constitution, the Apportionment Commission is charged with redrawing the lines of the State's 40 legislative districts, from which the 40 Senators and 80 members of the General Assembly are elected. Legislative redistricting must be undertaken at the beginning of each decade to account for population changes that occur during the previous decade within the geographic boundaries of the State. The purpose of redrawing the districts is to ensure equal democratic representation among the members of the population as nearly as practicable. Before the legislative redistricting process can begin, the federal decennial census of the United States must be taken. The census provides the raw demographic and geographic data from which legislative districts are created. The United States Constitution establishes the census as the basis for the apportionment of members of the House of Representatives, but is silent as to the mechanics of establishing legislative districts. Therefore, each state has its own method of redrawing legislative boundaries at the start of each decade. In New Jersey, the redistricting map is created by the Apportionment Commission. Initially, the Commission consists of 10 members appointed in equal numbers by the chairmen of the State committees of each of the two political parties whose candidates for Governor received the largest number of votes at the most recent gubernatorial election. If the Commissioners cannot agree on a map, an 11th Commissioner is appointed by the Chief Justice of the New Jersey Supreme Court. The following members have been appointed in accordance with the New Jersey Constitution to serve as Commissioners for the 2011 redistricting round. Democratic MembersJohn S. Wisniewski (Co-Chair)Nilsa Cruz-Perez (Vice Co-Chair)Joseph CryanSheila Y. OliverPaul A. SarloRepublican Members Jay Webber (Co-Chair)Irene Kim Asbury (Vice Co-Chair)George GilmoreKevin O'TooleBill Palatucci11th MemberAlan Rosenthal
Publisher Information
  Publisher:   NJ Apportionment Commission and NJ Office of Information Technology (NJOIT), Office of Geographic Information Systems (OGIS) 
  Publication Place:   Trenton, NJ 
  Publication Date:   20110403 
  Direct NJGIN
metadata link:  
Spatial Domain:
  West Coordinate:   -75.593442 
  East Coordinate:   -73.876637 
  North Coordinate:   41.357588 
  South Coordinate:   38.785047 
  Coverage Area:   New Jersey 
Spatial Data Information:
  Data Type:   Vector 
  Data Format:   AVSHP 
  Data Projection:   Transverse Mercator 
Status of the Data:
  Progress:   Complete 
  Data Update Frequency:   10 years 
Data Storage and Access Information:
  Access Constraints:  None
  Use Constraints:  None
  Online Linkage:  https://njgin.state.nj.us/oit/gis/download/LegDist.zip

  View Full Metadata